Jelly Baby?

Jelly Babies

Name: Jelly Babies
Type: Jelly
Price: $3.29
Candy Origin: UK
Place Bought: World Market in Austin, Tx
Reason for buying: Obsession with Doctor Who
Rating: 4/10

Along with traveling, Gossamer and I love trying out new foods and drinks, but most of all candy! While shopping today, we came across something that made us both giggle like crazed fangirls: Jelly Babies! Now, we’ve never tried these before but knew about them through Doctor Who. Yes, we are suckers for anything related to Doctor Who. Sadly, we were a bit disappointed over these.

Pros:
They are cute and each flavor has a “personality” and a name. There’s Brilliant the Strawberry, Bubbles the Lemon, Boofuls the Lime, Big Heart the Blackcurrant, Bumper the Orange, and Baby Bonny the Raspberry. They all even have really cute faces. The colors are pretty and bright with what I’m assuming is a type of powder sugar coating.

Cons:
This is not something I could continuously munch on during a trip. After just a couple, I don’t want anymore. In fact, I don’t even think I’m going to finish this bag. I was really hoping for these to be great, but I just can’t convince myself to like them. Plus, they are a bit overpriced. (Any candy shipped over seas is more and likely to be pricey.) The texture isn’t the greatest when you start to chew. It feels a bit grainy-ish. I wish I had a better way of describing it, but can’t really think of one.

Overall:
We give Jelly Babies a rating of 4 out 10. While they are very cute and have a connection to one of our obsessions, Gossy and I are just not crazy for them.

Links:
Jelly Babies Wiki
Nutrition Facts

    • CELL
    • January 14th, 2009

    Which one did you go to in Austin? I went to one, but alas, nothing. It was all Haribo etc.

  1. I can’t remember exactly! Sorry! It was either the one next to Dave & Busters or near a Hobby Lobby.

  1. January 27th, 2009

Leave a Reply

