GJ’s Kite Adventure

GJ looking at the event shirts

GJ at the Zilker Kite Festival

Event: Zilker Park Kite Festival
Where: Zilker Park in Austin, Texas
When: March 1st

Last weekend we headed down to Zilker Park for the 81st Annual Kite Festival. You read that right. This festival has been around for 81 years! That’s pretty much older than all of us here combined…

Truth be told, we weren’t there for the actual event but to volunteer. We helped set up and sold T-Shirts. (GJ’s is posing with the T-Shirt in the first pic.) It was very interesting to talk with other people and see how things work behind the scenes.

For example; A awesome man named Dirk has been selling shirts at the festival since 1987. We actually meet a lot of people who have been going to the event since they were kids and our now taking their grand kids.

Along with just plain ol’ kite flying, there is competitions, workshops, seller booths, rock climbing, and people showing off old cars.

Our kite was a NASA space shuttle… It may be nerdy but it’s an amazing kite. (Which we got at a cute, little kite shop called World Wind Kites.)

It was just a fun, random place to be at! Not only will we be back next year, but we’ll be volunteering with them again.

Links:
Zilker Kite Festival
World Wind Kites
Exchange Club of Austin
More of Our Event Pictures

  1. Woah a kite festival sounds pretty cool. I used to be a big kite fan myself when I was a kid. I used to make my own kites together with my brother. Very nice the kite festival has been around for some years! Not sure if we have a similar festival in The Netherlands, I really should look into it.

  2. I am not even lying when I say that I dream to go to a Kite Festival one day. In a nice spring dress with the greenest grass and bluest sky. That’s an ultimate dream come true. I envy you getting to go to one!

  3. That looks like a cute fesitaval! I didn’t get to goto many growing up so I’m definitely going to take any kids I have!

  4. I’ve actually never heard of “kite festivals” before, but they seem like fun! Your pictures look awesome, and it sounds like you had a lot of fun there.

  5. I’ve never seen a kite festival. It sounds like great fun!! It actually woke up my photography senses… we dont’ have a festival that I know of but there is a park near by where lots of people fly them. I tend to love any kind of festival just because of the overall feeling.

    Glad to see you had fun! The best part is meeting people and it sounds like that one has a great history behind it. I’m a little jealous… I’ve never been to many festivals and none of them were that old.

  6. Ive never been to any kind of festival let along a kite one =) sounds like it was a great day, I plan to take our child when they are older to festivals etc, I think they would love it! =)

  7. I miss kite flying. I bet it was cool to see all those kites. Sounds like you had a good day and a fun time!

  8. Awwww, that sounds like a great day out. I bet you had a wonderful time – a kite festival is such a cool idea. May this tradition live on forever!

  9. Did you sell ALL your tshirts..?
    Maybe you could put a link, or onsell them in here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

